Growing Up

/sniff

I think it’s time for my mage to set aside something from his younger days and move on.

That’s right, I’m going to move a couple points in his talent tree – points I’ve had for a very, very long time.

Prismatic CloakI can hear the gasps of dismay from here…

“What the hell were you doing with Prismatic Cloak in your RAID spec?!?!?!”

Because it reduces the amount of damage I take by 4% with 2 points in it.

“Why the hell would you need that? Don’t you have a freakin’ healer?”

Well, you see… there have been some issues in the past with me getting healed. This goes back to 5-man content and our pally healer just sort of forgetting that I existed. Apparently mages get shuffled to the bottom of the party list for our usual party composition.

I do my best to avoid damage, but there are times when it just can’t be helped – Telestra‘s Bungee Cord of Doom  comes to mind. Also coming to mind is the “minion incident” in the same fight. I use more health pots than mana pots and I keep a stack of bandages on me (that even get used).

But, I will have to admit, he’s much better now about remembering me. I think he got tired of listening to me complain. When I’m dead I don’t have to worry about staying out of fires or following a rotation so it frees me up to bitch at him with no loss in DPS.

I’m also running a lot more 10-man content which means at least 1 more healer looking out for me.

So, in an effort to get a smidgen more DPS out of my build I think I’m going to move the points over to Student of the Mind.

Those 2 points will increase my spirit by 7% – feeding directly into my crit rate off of my Molten Armor, which I am glyphed for. As a bonus, it should bump my mana regen up a little more as well.

I’m still not quite ready to part with my point in Slow. I still use that heavily in dailies and finishing up quests. When I’m done with questing and have ground all my rep into the dust, I will probably give up Slow. Maybe.

So what prompted the scrutiny of my spec?

My mage/DK buddy was poking around on WoW Heroes and tells me that out of all the mages on our server, I’m ranked in the 50s for my gear.

That should have made me ecstatic.

Instead, I wanted to cry.

I think, no – I KNOW, my DPS/damage should be higher.

Looking at the top-geared mages, it appears that fire spec is where it’s at, by a huge margin.

I leveled fire. It was OK.

But after going arcane, I can’t imagine going back.

If I were in a top-end raiding guild, I would jump on fire. I wouldn’t be as happy, but I would do it. In a casual guild that has no hopes of seeing cutting edge content anyway… I would rather be happy.

I don’t want to be the best, I just want to be better in my chosen spec. Maybe the best in my spec? We’ll see.

Hopefully today, I’ll hit the training dummy a couple more times to get some more base-line data. Then I’ll shift those 2 points and return to blasting the dummy.

I also plan on poking around at Elitist Jerks to see what else I can tweak. I’ll admit, I’m a little scared of the EJ forums. The last time I went there, months ago, it seemed like the mage stuff was a huge mess. Looks like I’ll just have to buckle down and slog through it if no one has cleaned it up.

Got another invite to VoA 25 last night. My damage and DPS both went up a bit from my first time, I’m getting more comfortable with the fight. PvP bracers dropped, my 87 got creamed by a 97.

I have been tentatively offered a spot in a 25 Uld this weekend. It’s 2 guilds running together, and I’m being invited by our second alliance guild if they have the room. They are expecting to clear the first 10 or so bosses. I’ve never set foot in a 25 Uld and on 10 I’ve only cleared through Kologarn. Looks like I have a lot of reading to do.

Running with these guys is very enjoyable for me, once the scheduling issues are out of the way. They are laid back and funny, but take the task at hand seriously and have been very supportive. I probably spent 30 minutes last night bugging one of them to discuss mage stuff. He doesn’t even get to play his mage anymore, but took the time to look me over and offer suggestions.

Hopefully next week I’ll have a report of what is beyond Kologarn and pictures of spiffy new gear!

5 comments on “Growing Up

  1. Dark/Soth says:

    I recommended you drop Prismatic Cloak and Slow months ago. I also mentioned that I think you aren’t burning through enough mana towards the ends of fights. I also mentioned that your cooldown management might need a little work. Using them right away isn’t always the optimal strategy. Knowledge and experience with the fight goes a long way in predicting the best time to use cooldowns.

    No love for Dark. =(

    And yes, on many fights, you will see 5-10% higher dps with a Fireball/ToTW spec.

    Like

  2. telanarra says:

    I feel so loved :(

    i swear u heal the locks pet once instead of the mage and u never hear about it. I mean come on if a locks pet dies they need to resummon it using up one of there shards, if the mage dies i can always rez them :)

    Like

  3. Darkdalamar says:

    Holy Crap its Tel.

    Tel, I was thinking that because of the way she called you out, you should reinstate the No Heal list and make sure Arioch is on top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

