Worst Holiday EVER

So I was looking forward to the Day of the Dead holiday, I mean it comes with a pet!

I happen to be in Undercity so dance with Catrina there and purchase one of each of the goodies – mask, 1-use marigolds, a candle, the recipe for the bread, the offhand equipped marigolds, and the candy.

Achievement Dead Man's Party

I equip the marigolds and have fun talking to all the dead people until I realize they are all saying the same thing.

I learn the recipe and hit the cooking vendor and innkeeper for the flour and milk needed to make the bread.

Someone mentions that you need to be at your race’s home city to get the Grateful Dead quest.

I know where the graveyard is by Silvermoon City so head out there just in case.

I make my bread at the ghostly fire.

Pop the marigolds again and turn in the bread.

Get my little marionette and a couple screen shots.

Dead Duo

Macabre Marionette

What? He’s not a permanent pet?

That blows.

And then I’m all done, that’s it.

Oh well, time to head out to Stonard so I can work on the rest of the old world quests I have.

Portal myself to Stonard and go to summon the little guy – might as well enjoy him while I can.

And I suddenly have more bag space than I did before.

The candy, the mask, the pet, the rest of my bread, the candle – all gone.

I still have my costume!

(Which has allowed me to determine I will never roll a Forsaken caster. Casting animations are meh.)

Until I cross the border out of Shatt into Terrokar Forest proper and it went *poof* about 4 hours before it should have.

So what do I have to show for the holiday?

Achievement Dead Man's PartyThat’s it.

A 10-point achievement and a couple screen shots.

The equip-marigolds were still in my inventory when I logged out. I’m curious to see if they stay past the 2nd.

If not, then I really don’t have much to show for the holiday.

Bah.

6 comments on “Worst Holiday EVER

  1. rustbeard says:

    The lack of a permenant pet threw me the most – enough so I’m not bothering to get it on my main (although, having a little skeleton follow my DK around was kind of funny).

    You’re not alone in your disapointment.

    Like this

  2. repgrind says:

    I was soooo sad the pet wasn’t a regular permanent mini-pet. He’s so CUTE! /sigh

    Like this

  3. theerivs says:

    Events are dumdum. But Male Forsaken casting rocks!!!! They make the horn symbol, and cast a fireball. Its awesome, ok when they channel stuff the pose is…ummm. a little awkward but hey casting Bolts are awesome!

    Like this

  4. Raven says:

    I’m intrigued. It is now 11/6/09 and I still haven’t paid my rent. SHIT!!! I mean, my Macabre Marionette is still in my bag. Interesting. I better go pay my rent.

    Like this

  5. Troutwort says:

    Once I found out he wasn’t a permanent pet I didn’t even bother. Boo.

    Like this

  6. repgrind says:

    Karius still has his, and it still works … but it doesn’t count as a regular minipet … kinda like that ghost wolf you summon from Don Carlos’ hat.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

