Accckkk!

And that is how the 4.1 patch was ushered in.

Not with an exclamation of joy or frustration.

Just an off-guard “Accckkk!”

As always, I forgot to load the out of date add ons and was shocked to see the default UI upon logging in.

And as we all know, the default UI is just so… so… so… default.

After a few years of playing with add ons, sometimes I forget what the developers intended for me to be looking at.

Anyway, “Accckkk!” is also the sound many players that don’t read patch notes might have made upon entering combat and discovering that their spells casts acted a little off, a bit odd, something was different and they might not have been able to quite put their finger on it…

Hidden way down at the bottom of the patch notes, under the User Interface heading, you might have noticed this:

Spells bound to a key now start to be cast when the button is pressed down by default, instead of waiting for the key to go up. This is an option that can be turned off in the Interface menu under Combat. Mouse clicking has not changed and operates on mouse click up.

Now why in the hell would Blizzard make this the default?

I understand the purpose of the option, and I imagine there is a whole flock of players (primarily PvP) that are gleefully removing an add on that allowed for this clicking behavior.

But why make it the default?

12 million accounts and this is perceived to have been an issue for the majority of them? Enough that it necessitated being made default?

I know plenty of casual players that don’t read patch notes, that don’t go delving into all the option panes with each patch ferreting out bizarre little changes, that are probably going to be a bit flummoxed with this change.

And the fun part?

If the ability is part of a macro, say like 95% of my healing spells, it continues to function as it did before – spell cast occurring upon button raising.

So if a player wasn’t paying very close attention to exactly which abilities were affected and which weren’t it might make it even harder for them to figure out exactly what the hell was going on.

Personally, I turned the feature off.

I pre-cast things such as dispels or counters by pressing the key and holding it, waiting for the right moment to say, dispel Blackout or purge Remedy or Spellsteal some nommy buff. Depending on what else I’m doing, I can actually hold that key down and continue to cast normally off my mouse wheel, just biding my time.

So if you’re curious, here’s where to go to get that shit turned off:

Press Escape to get into your menu and go in to the Interface page.

Go to the Combat pane, you should see a yellow exclamation point next to it to indicate there is something shiny, new, and craptastic on that pane.

Before you hate on my mad MS Paint skillz, you should know that this piece of art was created in Photoshop.

Find the offending check mark and remove it.

Another blue post jewel from the same patch notes:

The Reins of the Dark Phoenix, purchased from the Guild Vendor, has had its art improved. It’s now less transparent and indisputably more awesome.

The Dark Phoenix previous did this really cool flame burst effect if you were landed and turned the bird.

It does it no more.

Indisputably less awesome. By a lot.

I’ll let you judge if the art has been improved:

Before 4.1 patch:

After 4.1 patch:

It might be a tad bit brighter, but only maybe.

Surprisingly, with all the whining there was on the forums when the model was first released, I have seen nothing about the lack of a change to the art as promised with the patch.

And that’s really all of the new patch I’ve experienced.

A few add ons are broken-ish, there’s a few bugs logging in or dying in the new 5-mans (which I hear are decently difficult), the JC daily quest giver has moved indoors next to the JC trainer, and I can no longer enter my authenticator code at the first log in screen.

I’m excited to check out what goodies are in store for my mage, with reduced cast times on Arcane Blast and some increased damage modifiers… but Recount is broken-ish and so I’m not really anxious to spend some time at the target dummy wondering how much better I’m doing.

As normal, I’ll wait a day or two for the patch to cool down and the hot fixes to roll in before making a judgement on how I like it.

How was your patch night?

2 comments on “Accckkk!

  1. slice213 says:

    ZA was quite fun, wasnt too bad. took a bit longer then expected but that to be expected when heading in cold turkey.

    I can see a normal PuG group may not be able to get though ZA or ZG. (of course unless they are super duper players) Then again, I have little faith in LFD, you may get someone awesome or someone horrible.

    Like this

  2. zarigar says:

    Since everything is about my pally now, I cried a little bit when I saw that they slapped a cooldown on Word of Glory then I dried my tears when I saw that holy pallys got the CD taken away.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

