/gquit in Naxx, all the cool kids do it

Last post I went off about the ineptness of the guild that we’re allied with, our 15 minutes of drama, and a somewhat resolution to the issue.

It’s a game so I really can’t get bent too out of shape about it.

With a fresh view of the situation I returned to the game Thursday night.

Ran some dailies, ran my husband through an instance for his first-ever tank run on his DK. Really wasn’t a challenge: 4 of us geared through Naxx 10/25 and some Uld, with an 80 DK tank running amok in normal Utgarde Keep. We slaughtered the place. No one died, we only pulled aggro off the tank twice that I know of, and he got some things figured out for placement on action bars and such. I think he even got a drop. We’ll do something a little more challenging next time. Or the DPS will strip down to holiday outfits so we don’t kill everything so damned fast. My brewfest outfit hasn’t been used in months and that keg is getting lonely in my bank.

Two of our guildies were running Naxx 10 with the allied guild. Not really sure why… I think the lock needs one or two drops and maybe the druid was looking for tier pieces for off spec. Who knows?

Couple hours later, they are still running Naxx 10.

How’s it going?

“Have spider down.”

And…?

“Just spider.”

hahahahahahahahahaha

I can’t stop laughing.

The lock has to leave but the druid sticks it out for another hour or so.

How much farther now?

“At 4 horsemen.”

Oh good. Plague or construct already down as well?

“No. Patch and Grob, quit on Gluth.”

OMG, it hurts! Make the laughter stop!

Druid has to leave, it’s getting late and he needs to get some rest.

The priest whispers me, “This is f ing horrible.”

I pop into their vent to see what the problem is. Could it be heals? New tank? Low DPS?

Try dumbshit new recruits.

Experienced tanks and heals. Noob DPS.

The whole concept of switching targets on the horsemen was completely lost on them, even after multiple explanations.

I offer to jump in for this one fight if they have room.

Someone got fed up with the fail train and bailed so I took their spot.

I’m put in charge of calling the switches in the front. The DPS is shaky, so we’ll probably have to switch multiple times.

Get the party started.

DPS on Thane, get over here and get your noses up the horse’s ass! Failure to stack will result in your death by meteor.

Dumb ones die first.

Switch!

Tanks pull it off mostly flawlessly, Thane didn’t quite get pulled back far enough so we were slow in losing his marks… except for the warlock that just stood in the middle of the room. He didn’t lose his marks.

Lost someone in the back and unyielding pain starts flying around everywhere.

I think we tried it 5-6 times, swapping out people every attempt so we had to explain the fight over and over again.

Finally gave up, there just wasn’t enough DPS alive past the switches to clear the back. I have no qualms in admitting I can’t solo DPS 4H, even on 10 man.

Continuation is put on the calendar for Saturday at 3 server.

Friday night is the Uld that I scheduled.

10 people invited.

Of those 10, 2 declined and replacements were invited in their stead. Of those 2, 1 was a no show. Of the originals, our druid was unable to show due to work blowing up. So 12 invites for 10 peeps, not bad.

We were at Uld at the start time and were buffed and going within 15 minutes.

At least 3 had never set foot inside Ulduar.

Flame Leviathan took 2 shots.

Dropped Firesoul again, only one person needed it, and a DPS trinket that went to my rogue hubby.

Took on XT-002 next… that took a few more tries. Probably 5-6. The adds were out in major force during the heart phase, made it very tough. Something was really hinky with mana regen, there were totems out but none of us casters seemed to be feeling it.

I think XT dropped a set of bracers and a vest for our two shaman… someone got gear.

Onward to Razorscale!

I’ve only downed her once before. It’s one of my favorite fights, there’s lots to do without feeling completely overwhelmed. 3-4 tries and she was ours.

Excuse me, I have to do this…

And there she lay, tendrils of smoke rising from her gaping maw, her body broken beneath battered wings. She had cost us much and our healers tended to the wounded in the wake of our victory. Firesoul in hand, I strode to the mighty carcass and regarded the still form. Such strength lay within, if only I could harness it. Though magic is my calling I am no stranger to the ways of the blade. My blade plunged deep into her skull and wrested one of her eyes from its socket. The moist orb pulsed in my grasp one last time before shrinking and hardening into a miniature replica of the original. The Eye of the Broodmother, and it’s power, is now mine.

/rp off

Sorry about that.

Took a couple stabs at Ignis, but he’s just a royal pain in the ass.

We wanted to see something new.

Off to the Antechamber of something or other!

Zone in to a new area, only one of us has tread this far and her recollections of the enemies within were sketchy at best.

We made our way through the trash without too much effort (red glowy circles on the ground are bad, mmmkay?), dodged a couple patrols and boldly entered the chamber at the top of the stairs.

Where upon we promptly shit our pants from Kologarn playing peek-a-boo from behind the ledge.

He’s really big and he comes up out of nowhere. Seriously. It freaked us out.

We got a quick run down on as much of the fight as she could remember… this doesn’t sound too bad…

We were dead so fast DBM didn’t even give me a duration for the battle.

HINT: DO NOT USE A RANGED PULL ON HIM!!!!

Gave it a couple more tries.

The dude does not fuck around when he says he will squeeze the life from you. I didn’t even have time to Ice Block. Not even sure if it would have worked.

You FailDecided that we will pick it back up on Monday since we all have the day off of work and or school.

Log on today to see if I’m still needed in that fail Naxx 10.

I just need 6 more emblems to get a BoA trinket for my little priest, sent the BoA staff off to him already to go with the shoulders. He is one pimped out priest.

3 server – no one on.

4 server – priest is on, but not on the priest, he’s on his rogue.

I ask in our shared channel how that Naxx run is going.

Oh, they’ll be starting it soon and can I please come.

Only because I need emblems.

They want to start with Gluth. Ugggh.

Will I kite in the back?

Hell no. There are 2 hunters in the party and I honestly don’t trust the healers to keep my squishy ass alive.

But your blizzard will freeze them…

What part of I’M ARCANE did you not understand?

Even with two hunters in the back, we still couldn’t quite do it, kept losing one of the tanks in the front.

Turns out the druid healer thought the shaman healer was the main tank.

Now, I’ve never run with a shaman tank so I don’t know that it can’t be done. They could just be very rare, like feral druid tanks on my server.

But I’m pretty sure that if I had to look at a 10-man raid and determine which people were the tanks, I could at least exclude the guy in mail or leather with a fucking huge mana pool and an itty bitty HP bar. But that’s just me. If anyone knows of a shaman that is tanking Gluth in 10-Naxx, please let me know. I have a healer for you.

The sad thing is, it took us at least 4 tries to figure out that he was healing the wrong guy.

Much guild drama ensued on their side… the healer’s son popped into vent and started mouthing off about how low most of the DPS was and that was the reason it was a fail.

For people not on Gluth, yeah, their DPS is low, that’s the way the fight usually works. (Back to that whole utility thing!)

The people dedicated to Gluth were doing fine with the exception of a pally we were carrying, but we knew he was going to do crap.

But when one of the tanks dies… it’s pretty well a wipe at that point, regardless of the DPS.

If you can pull out that kind of damage to down Gluth before the remaining tank gets too many heal-impairing debuffs then you don’t belong in Naxx 10. Tell me how nice Uld 25 is because that’s where you should be.

Apparently it ended with a /gquit from the healer and a /gkick for the kid.

Move on to 4H so we can kill *something* before we die of old age.

DPS is still shaky so we’re planning to be ready for a switch in the front.

Again, I’m in charge of calling the switch. This is all discussed in vent and in raid chat. I’m even given a raid marking, go me!

We are running with a different OT than the previous attempt at 4H. I’ve run with this guy and he’s a decent player but has a weird temper. Sweet as pie and then gets nasty.

3 stacks on Thane and we only have him down to 56%. There’s no way I’m trusting the healers to keep up all the DPS in the front past 4 stacks and there’s no way we’re getting him down before the 4th stack hits.

I hate to do it, but I call for the switch.

The OT on Baron flips out and won’t switch.

He goes off about how his healer can keep him up for 6 stacks.

Someone pipes up, “But they can’t keep us all up. Most of us are squishy.”

OT blows up and starts yelling at me about how he’s never had to switch before.

That’s nice. The first several times I did 4H we had to switch because we didn’t have the DPS. But he’s not listening.

Next thing we know, he’s dropped out of vent, left the raid group and /gquit.

A few people had to go so we did another couple attempts with new people each time.

Finally we got the magic combination of people that knew what they were doing and could put out some numbers.

Thane down. Baron down. Sir Z down. Lady B down. The DPS never had to switch back to a previous target, they all fell like dominoes.

We called it there. I think we were 3 hours in and only 1 emplem to show for it.

There has got to be a faster way to get this trinket…

7 comments on “/gquit in Naxx, all the cool kids do it

  1. jong says:

    “I could at least exclude the guy in mail or leather with a fucking huge mana pool and an itty bitty HP bar” carrying a shield made of margarita flavored jello.

    Grats on the very castery nice trinket!

    Like

  2. Darkdalamar says:

    I had a great time reading this post. Nice work Arioch.

    Like

  3. gnomeaggedon says:

    /lol It is a sad thing that outsiders can get such joy from other’s misfortune…

    But it makes great reading…

    Who needs /failpugs when you have a /failguild.

    Like

  4. telanarra says:

    “Ran some dailies, ran my husband through an instance for his first-ever tank run on his DK. Really wasn’t a challenge: 4 of us geared through Naxx 10/25 and some Uld, with an 80 DK tank running amok in normal Utgarde Keep. We slaughtered the place.”

    you’re completely forgeting the fact that you got to be the bacon of light

    “And there she lay, tendrils of smoke rising from her gaping maw, her body broken beneath battered wings. She had cost us much and our healers tended to the wounded in the wake of our victory. Firesoul in hand, I strode to the mighty carcass and regarded the still form. Such strength lay within, if only I could harness it. Though magic is my calling I am no stranger to the ways of the blade. My blade plunged deep into her skull and wrested one of her eyes from its socket. The moist orb pulsed in my grasp one last time before shrinking and hardening into a miniature replica of the original. The Eye of the Broodmother, and it’s power, is now mine.”

    aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the RP it burns it burns

    :)

    @jong mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm margarita flavored jello.
    my only concern would be would the salt melt the jello?

    Like

  5. beefheart says:

    Agree with gnomeaggeddon :) your pain is our gain…I keep pugging stuff in the hope that I will have something to write about but it just never seems to happen. We got a pug tank in ( always a risky one ) for Occulus and UP, he was totally awesome….and he came on Vent and was a really nice guy. Is our server blessed? It can’t be because the trade retards are here in full force like everywhere else.
    In the name of blogging I will endeavour to take more than 3 hours for 1 emblem :)

    Like

  6. smart001 says:

    @beefheart – Don’t do it, it is not worth it.

    @arioch, sorry I have not been around. Work had me – Glad to see everything sucked while I was away though :P

    Like

Leave a Reply

