Nothing says “love” like a head on a pike

There’s just something about an over-the-top display of brutality that makes me all gushy on the inside.

I never got to do the attunement to Onyxia. Never got to see her before the nerf.

I’m actually a little sad that everything has been nerfed so hard and/or removed so I can never experience those quest chains or epic battles.

Anyway, a group of 4 of us wandered into Ony’s Lair for shits and giggles.

I’m sure that fight was intense back in the day.

We killed her without breaking a sweat.

“Overkill” comes to mind…

She dropped a bunch of old-school goodies that we joked about. 18 slot bag! No way! And then we rolled for the head.

100!

I can’t roll like that for real loot. WTF?

Into my bag the head goes.

 

Got me a little head

Got me a little head

Start the quest.

Ony Quest1Accomplished the impossible?

Now I’m almost feeling guilty about how insanely easy she was to drop.

Off to show my trophy to Thrall, my Warchief. My panzer tank Warchief.

Thrall in OrgI’m thinking of redecorating my living room to match Thrall’s throne room. It has a warm, rustic charm to it. And fire. I like fire.

Ony Quest2

Apparently Thrall’s a little jumpy these days. Thankfully he noticed that the rest of the huge-ass dragon was not attached. Things might have gotten messy. And if he crushed my dragon head I would be rather put out. I don’t vandalize his trophies.

Ony Quest3OMG! I’m going to be honored by the Warchief! Who is talking in third person…

Ony Quest4You heard the man, I have a public awaiting me.

/me drags dragon head back down to the Valley of Strength

Ony Quest5Um… I’ve been gazing. I have to watch the stupid thing while I’m dragging it around or I’m likely to trip on it.

And I thought it would be appropriate for me to be riding one of my wolves while turning in this quest. If I had the “of Orgrimmar” title I would have had that on too. Get a theme going.

Ony Quest6

So I choose my reward and wait for the celebration of my glorious victory to begin.

And wait.

And wait.

Double-check my bags. Yep, head is gone, quest reward is here.

And wait.

Chat with some friends that came into Org to watch the festivities.

And wait.

Finally start to open a ticket, this is absurd. I’ve been waiting over 5 minutes for this head to get piked.

And BAM!

Dragon SlayerBut wait!

Still no head.

And wait.

And wait.

And BAM!

Ony Head on a PikeAt long last, the lightning cracks down and everyone is Org (below level 70) is blessed with the Rallying Cry of the Dragon Slayer. You’re welcome.

We picked up a fifth person and also wandered into Kara (my first time there as well.) Picked up the recipes for Mongoose and Sunfire. Woot!

The opera was the Wizard of Oz one, I got the Wicked Witch’s Hat. I’m sure that hat was leet 10 levels ago…

Popped off to ZG. Fished up Gahz’ranka for an achievement and finished out the raid. I had killed all the sub-bosses before, but we had been unable to kill Hakkar the one time my guild went there.

I did eventually get the Orgrimmar title, but then it looks like I lost my name.

Unknown

Who am I again?

4 comments on “Nothing says “love” like a head on a pike

  1. telanarra says:

    oh the response i could post in reference to u asking “who am i again” but once again i show restraint partially due to the previously stated fact of your having key access to my apt and a fondness for sharp pointy objects. instead ima just go with the safe u suck for not inviting me. and yes i know i was not online but u still could have invited me somehow :)

    Like

  2. Dark/Soth says:

    IIRC, this was the night after Fail Naxx finished. I’m pretty sure I was far away from a computer. Sounds like we missed the fun!

    Like

  3. smart001 says:

    Kara is indeed very cool. I remember long, long, long struggles to get that joint cleared. Now 4 of us can clean it up in about 2 hours or so.

    I never did get to see Onyxia on hard mode. I wish I had, and I wish with the whole heroic thing, Blizzard would let groups go through on hard mode for the old raids pre nerf. I would love to get my level 60 warlock into a really really hard raid.

    Yeah, it would be cool to petition Blizzard to allow “heroic mode” old-school raids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

