Random Friday

Went through my screen shot folder, trying to clean it out, and came across a few randoms from the past couple days.

Less Is More

This one is noteworthy because we did it as a guild. There happened to be 8 of us on and in the proper proportion of tanks/heals/DPS.

It did take a couple tries. The first 2 attempts on Sarth we let the pally tank him and the DK picked up the adds. There were two problems. The rogue could pull aggro just by looking at Sarth and the pally never quite got the hang of positioning Sarth in such a fashion as to keep his tail out of the raid.

Switch and have the DK on Sarth and the pally on the adds. This eventually worked, but it got scary. Twice we think the pally taunted Sarth. He swears he didn’t (and I didn’t get the combat parse, bad me), but there is no way in hell that Sarth just randomly decides twice to face the OT (in the middle of the raid of course) and let loose an attack. Not when said pally tank can only keep aggro on a single target by everyone holding back.

The pally went down at some point and the warlock can’t dodge flame walls to save her life (literally) so it was more like we 6-manned it.

Anyway, as the achievement shows, we got it eventually.

There was the screen shot with me triumphantly proclaiming “I DIDN’T DIE” at the end of a 10-man Gothik fight.

Why is that a reason to be proud?

We were doing it the “fun” way, where everone stays on one side of the gate. You kill the “live” side mobs until the gate opens and then your tank (hopefully) picks up all the “dead” side stuff as it comes pouring over. We were doing OK… and then it got really messy really fast. I just remember pulling out every defensive trick I had until everything red was dead. With a deep breath, I looked at the raid frames.

Holy shit.

Still standing: the pally tank, the DPS warrior, a hunter, and me.

Apparently everyone else had dropped pretty fast after the gate opened so we effectively 4-manned the boss. Who needs healers?

In the same run, we had a similar occurence with Heigan.

Tank went down and thankfully so did Heigan as he turned to rush the platform. We were down to a hunter, resto shaman, and me.

There was also a little clip of local chat from Naxx:

– – – + – – Thad + + + + + +
……. ^ Don’t be this guy

That cracked me up.

I know I’ve mentioned it at least twice with a promise to follow up, so here it is…

Sexy Boots and Belt

That would be the Belt of Extreme Awesomesauce, commonly referred to as the Sash of Ancient Power and now also the Boots of Hasted Ass Kicking, or Spellslinger’s Slippers; both of which I have the patterns for.

And of course, just overall sexiness. /flex

Sash of Ancient Power
Binds when equipped

Waist Cloth

177 Armor
+63 Stamina
+64 Intellect
Blue Socket
Red Socket
Socket Bonus: +7 Spell Power
Durability 35 / 35
Requires Level 80

Equip: Improves hit rating by 43 (1.64% @ L80).
Equip: Improves haste rating by 49 (1.49% @ L80).
Equip: Increases spell power by 81.
Spellslinger’s Slippers
Binds when equipped

Feet Cloth

216 Armor
+63 Stamina
+64 Intellect
+41 Spirit
Blue Socket
Red Socket
Socket Bonus: +7 Spell Power
Durability 50 / 50
Requires Level 80

Equip: Improves haste rating by 56 (1.71% @ L80).
Equip: Increases spell power by 81.

My Arcane Blast casts in 2.09 seconds now.

/drool

I did drop some hit switching to the new boots. This meant I actually had to gem for a bit of hit and I am 4 points (0.14%) under arcane cap. But the increase in haste and spellpower should make up for that, not to mention the presence of a boomkin or spriest will completely negate the risk. At least I’m not 23 OVER cap anymore.

I’m looking forward to a 25 Naxx this weekend with some orc and his guild. I got to invite my guildies to fill out the roster so we’ll see how this goes.

11 comments on “Random Friday

  1. Millea says:

    Grats! That sounds like fun. You might want to mention to your warlock to put down her demonic teleport where the side firewall opening is. That way she just hits the teleport button and she doesnt have to worry about running fast enough.

    Of course that doesnt work with getting into the center, but she could always just run back into the center after the firewall moves.

    When I found that useful little application of that spell I stopped hitting the firewall and actually enjoyed that fight.

    Like

  2. Darkdalamar says:

    That clip from the local chat is pretty hilarious.

    The sad thing is, like 50% of the time or more, someone is going to fail on Thaddius.

    Like

  3. Roq says:

    How’d you get to 2.09 cast time for Arcane blast? At a 12.99% haste rating I show the formula as (2.5)/(1+(12.99/100)), which would = 2.21 cast time.
    Sorry, I’m trying to do some theorycrafting on my toon and want to make sure I’m calculating everything correctly.

    Like

  4. Millea says:

    glad I could help :)

    Like

  5. Darkdalamar says:

    Aw, I didn’t think of in terms of the achievement, i meant in terms of someone going to the wrong side or not moving at all. The achievement means that no one got shocked at all, even for a single tick. That’s really rare.

    Like

  6. some orc says:

    the paly might have used his aoe taunt to get the adds and didnt know he taunted the boss by being too close

    Like

  7. thedoctor says:

    haha

    happy bday CUZ!

    Like

  8. Envinyatar says:

    Your local chat Thaddius quote is quite hilarious. It’s all I can do to keep from giggling at work. ;)

    Like

  9. gnomeaggedon says:

    Got me with the thaddius chat… going to repost that one… hell might even make a sig out of it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

