Doing them a Disservice?

This is a thought I’ve had percolating around in my brain for some time. It draws heavily upon experiences and feelings related to the badge change in 3.2 and recent almost-drama in my guild.

How many of us have talked our friends into playing WoW?

Hey, there’s this great game I play, you should get it too! I can give you some gold to get you started and boost your level up so you can come play with me!

How many of us were shocked/appalled/mildly irritated with the badge change in 3.2?

ZOMG now scrubs will have good gear and think that they should be in raids!

Or maybe we were excited about the badge changes?

ZOMG now I can get my alt or my friend’s character caught up so much more quickly!

How many of us took the time to put these situations together?

The following post is hypothetical. I have to put this disclaimer in or someone will think I really have a friend named Bob that is playing WoW with me.

Let’s say I have a friend that I want to play WoW. We’ll call him Bob because I’m too lazy to come up with something original.

Bob gets the game installed, I walk him through rolling his character. Bob wants to play a mage, just like me. I’m so proud.

Now I’m always off on my mage doing big-mage stuff. I’m raiding and doing dailies so I can afford to raid (and support my vanity pet habit).

Poor Bob is killing 10 tigers.

And then 10 bigger tigers.

Next he can kill panthers!

So much for playing the game together.

I obviously have to get Bob up to 80 so he can kill raid tigers with me! (It’s a metaphor, work with me here.)

With Bob in tow, I run through every instance I can get him through the portal on.

Loot is set to free-for-all, take the cloth and the greens and blues and purples and leave the rest to rot. We’re here to pillage and plunder (and power level)!

Completing a few quests here and there on his own, Bob has made it to 80.

Guildmates help out and we steamroll heroics to get Bob some emblems and gear.

Then maybe a Naxx run or two. Knock on Sarth’s door for tea. Beat the VoA pinata for purple candy.

Bob is picking up gear left and right; no one else in the guild needs it, we’re all in our shiny raid purples.

Between the free loot and then emblems raining down, Bob is geared pretty well.

Hey, Bob!

We’re down a DPS for tonight’s ToCr raid. Want to join?

And so Bob trundles off to ToCr, happy to finally be doing big-mage stuff.

The beasts event starts, the magnataur comes out.

Bob has died.

Not only has Bob died, but his damage was shit for the 60 seconds he was up.

WTF? He’s in the best gear we can get for him!

But you see, poor Bob never got to learn how to properly play his class.

He did some quests on his own, but let’s face it – unless you’re trying to solo elites or take on multiple mobs above your level, you can get away with surviving with only a very limited understanding of a class. And if that quest is too hard, you can always dump it and move on to another.

(Not only that, but if you don’t have someone of your gear level to compare yourself to, you won’t know if you’re doing poorly or not. I know this, I soloed a warrior to 61 and to this day have no clue how the hell I ever got that far knowing as little as I did about class and game mechanics. I had spirit on my gear!!! But because I was living through most quests I was pretty sure I had a handle on what I was doing.)

Mechanics of fights often weren’t explained to him because it didn’t matter. The boss would be dead before it could cast that special attack. The healer could heal through the damage. Bob’s friends were in a rush to get through the old content as quickly as possible. Just kill it, strategy doesn’t matter. We’ll brute force our way through it. We all may have even laughed at the memories of our first times through there. New record! Boss down in 23 seconds!

Bob never was challenged by the content. He never understood what threat was or how he could control it. The tank was easily geared enough to keep on top of his threat or skilled enough to taunt it back. He never had to learn about survival abilities. Ice Block was what you used when jumping off of a cliff to get the Going Down achievement.

Getting out of the fire wasn’t important. We would tease him for standing in it, but with the strength of heals in the party he never died from it. He never learned the painful lessons of running back to a corpse and the resulting repair bill.

Crowd control and utility abilities were never used, why bother? It’s easier to AoE the whole pack instead of keeping a sheep off to the side. Someone else in the party was on top of removing curses. Bob probably never even saw a frame light up purple before it was gone.

Rotation was something that was talked about, but it didn’t really matter. The mobs were dead before he was even positioned in the room and ready to start casting. We ignored the low damage because it’s hard to compete against raid-geared people on mobs with such short life expectancies. He’ll be fine when he’s caught up with us.

With emblems and the upcoming changes to leveling and DKs starting at 55 and all these other things, we’ve been on the look out for the scrubs.

These changes will increase the number of scrubs!

These changes will let scrubs try to enter the hallowed grounds of raiding!

Night of the living scrubs!

Are these scrubs any worse than the ones we create ourselves out of friendship?

Wait!

What?

Our friends aren’t scrubs!!!

But what makes our friends immune to the taint of being a scrub?

Would they pass the PuG test? The PuG test being, if you didn’t know the person in real life and you were in a random raid with them, would you want to punch them in the face for being an idiot?

Being friends with a raider does not confer magical raiding skills. They do not step foot into their first raid with an intimate understanding of game mechanics. They do not receive a patch download from your brain into theirs about how bad it is to stand in fire. They only know what they have experienced.

One of the common topics I’ve seen in the blogs I read is the failure of Blizzard to provide enough “training” to new players so that they can be successful raiders at end game.

Why then, do we shoot ourselves in the other foot by taking what little education opportunities exist in the game and whisking our friends right past them?

Have we created our own monsters?

10 comments on “Doing them a Disservice?

  1. Berry says:

    I hate to say it… but almost everyone who hits 80 the first time (or 70 or 60 back in the day) is that clueless. I certainly was. Whether you leveled the hard way by yourself, or got powerleveled by your friends, there is a sudden learning curve at end game.

    In a lot of ways, Blizz has 2 games going, and a toon starts over at level 1 when they hit end cap. I have to admit, my first raid I subbed in as a social to fill out numbers at the tail end of the evening – and yes indeed I was below the tanks. 70 levels and plenty of instances… but I had no idea chain trapping even existed.

    Our raid leader took me aside and gave some pointers – I added 300 dps just by pushing my buttons faster. The hunter lead gave me a few pointers, and a friend introduced me to his friend, who sent me a really really really long email… and that email is what actually taught me end game raiding. Long story, I suppose, but my point is that very few “new” raiders really know how to play in a raid situation, because the rules aren’t the same.

    How many northrend bosses put fires on the floor? How much trash requires cc or a tank/rogue/whatever to interrupt? And do we actually cc in those 5 mans, or do we just power through and keep running? Yeah, ok, in theory we learn to control our aggro… but in practice the “examples” are usually power raiders running through at full bore, and the healers just throw heals like mad.

    Everyone is a scrub the first time. The question is how quickly they learn, and whether we take the time to help them L2Raid.

    Like

  2. Jaedia says:

    Best thing to do, direct them to a decent blog with a few simple guides/lists on how to play/gem etc.

    To be honest I’m semi-glad none of my irl friends took to playing WoW, they’d have all been hooked and wondering how to tame a murloc..

    Like

  3. Darraxus says:

    I was a complete nub when I hit 60 on my first toon. Once you figure out out though, you should be able to play any toon with minimal training and at least be decent.

    Like

  4. Euripedes says:

    I have never been the hand holding type with my friends. I’ll play with them on some random equal level alt, maybe blow them through SM once or twice, or even twink them out with a blue weapon, but I never go so far as to play the game for them.
    Getting them a single level and whitemane’s chapeau is one thing, single handedly dragging them from 20 to 60 without giving them the chance to play normally is another beast entirely.

    Like

  5. gnomeaggedon says:

    I was a scrub
    I am a scrub

    I don’t think I have been hand held, and like Rip, I don’t think I have done too much hand holding.

    You are right that there is a danger in boosting your mates, the bigger issue I think is if you can’t be honest with Bob and tell him he’s a scrub…

    if you can tell him, at least you can point him in the direction of resources so he can work it out himself.

    Poor Bob.. I hope he isn’t reading this… ;-)

    Like

  6. Syrana says:

    It’s always interesting the double standards we have…

    I got my parents interested in the game and they joined my guild (we’d be considered a social, casual guild that raids occassionally). I tried very hard to take them into level appropriate instances with as much of an alt group of equal levels as possible… I did my best to teach them the basics of grouping, especially with regards to loot etiquette.

    What I didn’t quite count on was guildies and other random players suggesting a gazillion addons (such as quest helper) and trying to boost them. I had been very specific on giving them helpful addons, but not wanting to hand them everything…

    Yet, people didn’t understand why I would ask them to not boost through all those instances etc. They thought they were being helpful. I tried to explain that it’d be more helpful to HELP them learn to play their respective classes, not have them be lootmonkeys for 70 levels.

    Now? My mom has seen more content than me. -.-

    Like

  7. Delerius says:

    This was just a little bit creepy. I WAS that friend, and my RL friend said he would run me through instances the whole way, get my to 80 as fast as possible.. yeah right. I think he ran me through Zul’Farrak twice and Scholomance once.

    I’m very glad that I ended up levelling on my own, learning how to kite, how to do all the stuff that mages need to do.

    What’s really creepy? My name is Bob.

    Like

  8. gnomeaggedon says:

    lol

    Poor Bob was reading this ;-)

    Like

  9. […] has a very interesting post that talks about power leveling your friends and how they gain no experience with the actual […]

    Like

  10. Nagu says:

    My sister likes WoW. She used to play a lot (although she never leveled very high). She moved out. She couldn’t afford to have a place to stay and pay for WoW, so she stopped buying timecards. So, I let her make a DK on another server on my account. And I must tell you, having an 80 DK myself, I just sat there watching her trying soo hard not to tell her ‘do this, do that’ because she wasn’t doing it right. But, when she finally figured out what to do and what not to do, she was really proud of herself because SHE figured it out, and I didnt’ tell her.
    I don’t know how she figured it out, but to be honest I have absolutely NO idea how I figured it out myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

