Scroll This

I think I have made my Happiness Engineer unhappy. He hasn’t returned any emails lately.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, read the last couple posts. I would link to them, but that’s part of the problem – I can’t do half the nifty stuff that I used to be able to do. This is just a tad annoying.

Anyway…

So I downloaded that MikScrollingBattleText that was raved about in yesterday’s comments.

AAAAAGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

So many buffs! And debuffs! And stuff!

There is a list of some reactionary-type things pre-made for me to click on or off, like Missile Barrage. And loot. And cooldowns.

But then there is everything else.

Power Word: Shield. Hospitality. Mirror Image. Arcane Blast.

The list goes on for a very long time and fills up my screen.

I’ve figured out how to suppress individual things as I come across them, pain in the ass.

Anyone know of a better way to handle this? I don’t want to turn off all buffs or debuffs as there is all sorts of stuff I run across that I’ve never seen before and might want to notice. A list of abilities to work off of would be nice.

I’ve run into a quandary with Arcane Blast.

If I change nothing, I get to see pretty purple numbers scrolling over on the side where I have outgoing damage set up. It’s pretty much stock, out of the box configuration over there, just made it scroll up instead of down.

But I also see the teal words informing me that I have 1 stack, now 2 stacks, now 3, etc. in the Notification area.

No problem, right? I’ll just go into the Skill Suppression section under Spam Control and shut that puppy off.

Arcane Blast is both the name of the stacking debuff as well as the name of the spell’s damage source.

Now I can’t see the damage.

I have a sneaking suspicion that the same would happen if I were to add Molten Armor to the suppressed list.

So is there a way to separate the debuff from the damage source?

I don’t care about the stacks, I use something else to track those and I am very happy with that arrangement, but I would like to see the damage from my main nuke. If I can’t see that damage I might as well just turn off that whole freaking side.

Am I asking too much?

This entry was posted in Musings.

10 comments on “Scroll This

  1. Imoh says:

    I do not have that problem with MSBT but I can’t see anything that I might have modified to fix it, I’ll look into it a bit closer and see what I can find, but I’m starting raid atm, got a certain King that needs killing.

    My only thought is that it might be related to the fact that I’m probably using an older version (havn’t updated in ages), what version are you running, I’m using 5.4.74 and I really can’t remember ever having this issue.

    Like

  2. Ricah says:

    Don’t turn it off in the skill suppression section, because that is global.
    Instead there should be a list of all skills for each section, so go into the one for the notification area and customize it there only.

    I’ll look into it in more detail when im at home.

    Like

  3. Delerius says:

    There is an option in the events tab called “buff stacks” and you can turn that off.

    Yes there is a bit of headache… don’t say I didn’t warn you.. but it’s got the options to fix all that. You just have to find it =P

    Like

  4. Orangeslice says:

    Hospitality…that really isnt a buff is it??? I call shenaigans on you!!!

    Like

  5. Orangeslice says:

    *sigh* Tell me when you want your soda…..

    Like

  6. Orangeslice says:

    The spell power buff given by the use effect is called Hospitality….found it on wowhead.com. Never doubt your GM!

    Like

  7. an ominous cow herd says:

    There’s no way to exclude just the Arcane Blast buff. The best you can do is disable Buff Stacks in the Events config. Most of the stuff that comes up in Notification isn’t terribly important. I moved that scroll area off to the side, and have the important stuff get sent to Static which is in the middle of my screen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

