So proud I could almost cry

OK, so Shadow Rising is in an INCREDIBLY awkward spot.

Tuesdays we run 25s with 15-18 of our own and pug up the rest.

It’s working decently well, we’re making progress and hopefully scouting out some more talent to bolster our roster.

Then on Thursdays we run 10s.

Well, we run 10.

Singular.

I generally have between 12-16 raiders available.

So unless we get very creative with pugging the 10s, we just run it once.

Of course, this means that people get sat out.

I ask for volunteers and I always step out after compiling the raid and getting them going.

Starting next week, I’m going to open up a third raid night to help alleviate this problem.

I have enough CHARACTERS in the guild to run multiple 10s, just not enough PLAYERS.

By splitting the 10-man raids on to two nights I can get everyone a spot as well as accommodate multiple alts.

But that’s next week.

(And yes, there will be a post on the guild forums and a guild mailing to announce it.)

This week, I put together a raid and sent them in to ICC.

Citadel down in no time flat.

Festergut.

Down.

Rotface.

Down.

Professor Putricide.

Down.

Blood Princes.

Down.

Blood Queen Lana’thel.

One wipe, then down.

Valithiria Dreamwalker.

Down. Or up. Or escaped. Or rescued. Whatever.

With only one wipe they marched right up to Sindragosa and put in some quality attempts on her.

About half the team was seasoned in the fights, a couple had been there once or twice and a couple fights were completely new to at least one raider.

I know several of my raiders read this blog, so I wanted to say to you guys, that you are awesome and you make me the proudest GM ever. You are the best raid kittens!

So even though I didn’t get to raid, I did get to make use of the time.

I was pushing hard for Loremaster for a while on Arioch and then suddenly lost interest. I had hit a wall in Outlands, trying to get Nagrand cleared up. I had several quests in my log that required doing heroic instances.

Instances that no one wants to run anymore.

If I were a plate class, I probably could have soloed most of them. Maybe.

I might have even been able to take a shot at it by respeccing to frost. Perish the thought. (Arcane for life!)

But as luck would have it, a certain warrior cow with a fetching swish to her tail was also not in a raid AND had access to the heroics.

Watching the new buffed warriors in action? ZOMG.

Makes me want to work on my warrior.

But now that I’ve cleared up a little more room in my quest log, I’m feeling the itch to pursue Loremaster again on Arioch. Which is a good thing, I’ve kind of been in a raiding rut, where all I do with him is log in to raid or to take care of “paperwork” for the guild.

It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed running around on my mage, exploring old areas and completing quests. I’m looking forward to it again.

Anyone else “changing gears” in the game?

50 comments on “So proud I could almost cry

  1. Tiræl says:

    1-shotting yourself on the last boss of Steamvaults was priceless. I was proud of our raiders last night as well. Maybe we can still get something together tonight if enough people get on. I say we let them keep that raid ID. They earned those kills and probably would have had Sindy last night if they weren’t hitting the raid time limit.

    Like

  2. Jaedia says:

    I’m trying to do Loremaster but it’s hard when your server sucks! So, I’m levelling my Rogue and itching to work on my Warrior too, so fun.

    Give my Explorer Task a bash while you’re out and about *hint*, nice to take a break from raiding once in a while and see Azeroth for a bit ;)

    Like

  3. Arvash says:

    Last night was pretty amazing. To one-shot everything, two-shot BQL and do it in under three hours was pretty exciting. Sindy was interesting for a first-timer and we came pretty close on couple attempts and I’m sure we’ll take her down soon. Everything was clicking on all cylinders, Soth and I tanked it tight, dps blew shit up and the heals kept everyone up. Good job to all!

    Like

  4. Some Orc says:

    new buffed warriors?! YOU LIE!

    Like

  5. slice213 says:

    Yup awesome job all. Good time and got some people nice upgrades. Although I think from the lower spire aka loot spire…90% + of that gear was sharded.

    Things clicked and the 1st bosses went boom.

    Like

  6. zarigar says:

    The closest I’ve come to seeing Ari cry is when her steak gets “overcooked” and it’s brown and doesn’t bleed when she jabs it with a fork.

    Nice job!

    Like

  7. koalabear21 says:

    Last night was pretty awesome. Most of us had not raided together in that group. It felt more like an actual raid to me than a group of friends having fun, even though we were.

    I almost wonder if that was the trick to us just focusing and killing shit.

    Also, I need to respec into Dark Pact >.>

    Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Hehe. Wouldn’t it be funny if the intentions behind me backing out of raiding last night was so I could sort of..manipulate the group make up so that a group of people who have rarely, if ever, raided together in order to make you focus more on your own personal game instead of slacking because you knew the other people had your back?

      Or that I purposely said certain things like certain people should go because they could “use the gear” in order to almost guarantee that a certain subset of people would get put in the raid in lieu of others so that I could inadvertantly get a raid to focus?

      I would never do that…..:)

      Like

    • koalabear21 says:

      quit trying to take credit :-p

      oh and guess what?

      *huggles*

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I am not taking credit for your kills. You all did that on your own and no one can take it away from you. I wanted to kind of show you all something.

      Every single one of you are just as good as a Soth/Tirael/Arioch/what have you. What you all lack is focus. Give you a situation where you have to focus because you don’t “trust” (I use that loosely) the other players not because you don’t like them, but because you don’t know their raiding style and what would most people do? They would focus on their own role and doing the best they can, given it is a guild run.

      Again, it isn’t taking credit for your kills by giving you a reason to focus. Like you said, it felt more like a “raid” and not a group of friends having fun. You can have fun and still be “hardcore” serious.

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      In other words, I did nothing but provide a catalyst. All of you brought the fuel and kindling for the fire…then proceed to burn that bitch down. You are all to thank for your hard work and dedication. So I thank all of you for your hardwork and effort last night.

      Like

    • Slice213 says:

      sneaky tir is sneaky

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I just wanted you to all know how good you really were. Last night was proof of that. That type of focus is what is needed for the point we are at. I had no doubt in my mind that you would make it as far as you did. I firmly believed you would be knocking on LK’s door if you had the time left last night.

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I just said I provided a catalyst. Stop stuffing words in my mouth.

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I hate myself…

      Stop stuffing words in my mouth

      Did I really just type that? Yep…I did.

      Inb4 “Lol, we liking stuffing things in your mouth”

      As long as it fits, I am ok with it.

      Like

    • koalabear21 says:

      I think we have him trained well Ari. Wouldn’t you agree?

      ;-)

      love you Tir ;-)

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Here I go trying to say “See, you are all just as good as you think I am” and I get beat around like a sub in leather with a feather duster sticking out my ass.

      Like

    • koalabear21 says:

      It makes you look like a pony

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Hey, I am the type that is willing to do something a second time..O.o?

      Like

    • koalabear21 says:

      You know, for someone who professes to be a Dom you sure are a willing sub

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I never said I was the one in leather.

      Like

    • koalabear21 says:

      “I get beat around like a sub in leather with a feather duster sticking out my ass.”

      I think you just said you were and that you had a feather duster in your ass

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Hey now. Don’t project your fantasies onto me.

      Like

    • Slice213 says:

      Sorry tir i am going to side with Koala and Ari on that one…you did type that out.

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      I think they are just twisting my words into some perverse fantasy were they get to dominate me. Smart of you to side with the ladies on this one though.

      Like

    • Slice213 says:

      When dealing with a crasy beast(s) it is best to talk slowly, calmly and back away slowly. Don’t give them ammo to pelt at you :P

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Well, when dealing with these two unique beasts, it is best to run as fast as humanly possible and evade capture as long as you can, because when they catch you, they are going to rip you apart….giggity.

      Like

    • Slice213 says:

      No thanks Ari….with you and koala…i would not wanna show my backside to you two. We all learned from Tir what happens to you, when one does so.

      Like

    • Tiræl says:

      Wow slice…wow. I got nothing. I will go hang my head in shame in the corner. I relinquish all my internetz to Slice.

      Like

    • Slice213 says:

      Ahh Tir you can have them back. I need someone to take the flak for me.

      Like

  8. Slice213 says:

    Focus + fun = win!

    focus – fun = maybe but is draining. <.<;

    fun – focus = no thanks, as well.

    Like

  9. telanarra says:

    Congrats to all of ya. the non raiding vent channel was entertained by it. Every time Sorak posted for epgp standby we were all like holy shit didn’t just take down Xboss a second ago.

    Like

  10. Imoh says:

    Nice timing putting that question out at this point in the expansion, nearly everyone will be changing gears atm, whether that’s relaxing (on alts or exploring/questing) or putting in the long hours in ICC HM.

    “But now that I’ve cleared up a little more room in my quest log, I’m feeling the itch to pursue Loremaster again on Arioch. Which is a good thing, I’ve kind of been in a raiding rut, where all I do with him is log in to raid or to take care of “paperwork” for the guild.”

    Going through the same thing at the moment, my mage almost feels like a hired gun, bought in to blow shit up and then locked away again. I’m not seeing that as a bad thing though, it’s the middle of a content patch and I get more than enough time on the mage during raids.

    As for what I’m doing with the rest of my WoW time, I’ve been trying to level a paladin for over 2 years now (same toon the whole time) and I’ve managed an extra 4 levels lately but I’m already bored senseless with it, no idea how pallies don’t go insane from tedium. I’ve just started a lock on a US server for some odd reason (I’m aussie, no one is on the US servers when I log on) and I’m really enjoying it, about 15 levels in so far but I think it will hit 80 before Cata, if it manages that massive feat (I usually hate questing) it’ll be one of 4 characters at cap in as many years, if I keep this rate up I’ll only need to play for another 6 years to have a toon of every class at level cap =P

    Good luck with loremaster, you’ve more patience than I do, I could never get that done, it’s just way too much effort for my likings. Also good luck with Sind, and LK after that, then you can start the whole thing over on heroic =P

    Like

Leave a Reply

